Five "Can't Miss" Twitter Chats

Each week educators from around the world engage in meaningful conversations on Twitter. Twitter chats have connected educators globally and transformed the way many view professional development. Currently, there are over 200 of these chats, which range in topic, participants, and purpose.  An up-to-date list of these educational chats can be found at: bit.ly/officialchatlist.So where does one begin?  Listed below are five “Can’t Miss” Twitter Chats and an excellent starting point for anyone looking to engage in this dynamic educational forum.1. #EDCHAT Topic: Various Hot Topics in EducationOccurs: Tuesdays; 12:00pm EST, 7:00pm ESTThe boemeth of educational chats, #edchat started it all. Founded by Tom Whitby (@tomwhitby), Shelly Terrell (@shellterrell), and Steven Anderson (@web20classroom), this chat paved the way for the hundreds of others that followed. I had the privilege of presenting a Bammy Award to these three friends in September. You can watch the presentation of the special achievement award here. Podcasts of the weekly #edchat conversations are produced by the BAM Radio Network and can be found here. Previous topics include: “Is Education Broken or Just Outdated?”, “What are the Top Paradigms that We Need to Change for Real Reform?”, and “How do Teachers Gain a Voice in the Education Reform Movement that Targets Them as a Problem”?2. #EDTECHCHATTopic: All things EdTechOccurs: Mondays; 8:00pm EST#edtechchat exploded on the scene in April of 2013, quickly becoming one of the top weekly chats. Guest moderators have included US Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan (@arneduncan), Scott McLeod (@mcleod), Google’s Top Rated Trainer Rich Kiker (@rkiker), speaker Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach (@snbeach), ISTE Keynote speaker Adam Bellow (@adambellow) and others. Sample topics include: “Building your Brand”, “Google Apps for Education”, “The Connected Educator”, etc. 300-400 educators keep student learning at the heart of this chat each week. For BAM Radio podcasts, click here.3. #IAEDCHAT Topic: Iowa Ed Chat Occurs: Sundays, 8pm CST Moderators Matt Degner (@mwdegner), Jimmy Casas (@casas_jimmy) and Aaron Becker (@aaron_becker32), use the chat forum to help Iowa educators connect with those around the globe. This chat is not focused on education in Iowa, yet focused on educational topics that benefit all educators, regardless of location. Example topics include: “Educators, Electronics, and Ethics”, “Disruptors in Education”, “Favorite Interview Questions”, and “Teacher Burnout”.  Simply put, this is one of the most student-centered chats around, with each chat ending with a motivational call to action.4. #PTCHAT Topic: Home and School Connections Occurs: Wednesdays; 9pm EST #ptchat’s 15 moderators do an excellent job creating high-interest, engaging conversation focused on school and community partnerships. Moderators include: Lead Learner Joe Mazza, (@joe_mazza), PTO Presidents Gwen Pescatore (@gpescatore25) and Lisa Davis (@lisaodavis), and Elementary Principal of the Year, Tony Sinanis (@tonysinanis).  Sample chat topics include: “Edu-Jargon for Parents”, “Learning Spaces Drained for Students at Home and School”, and “Balancing a Warm, Welcoming Environment with School Safety”. Relationships and school cultures improve in buildings across the country because of this chat. #ptchat can also be found on the BAM Radio Network, here.5. #SATCHAT Topic: Various Hot Topics in Education Occurs: Saturdays; 7:30am EST Another can’t miss chat, this weekly conversation encourages “PD in your PJs”.  Brew a cup of coffee, log on, and join this conversation bright and early each Saturday morning, Moderators Scott Rocco (@scottrrocco), Brad Currie (@bcurrie5), and Bill Krakower (@wkrakower) create a dynamic conversation with a mix of fun, engaging questions, all with a community feel. Sample topics include: “The Ideal Educational Experience”, “Igniting Passion”, and “Resilient Leadership”. A west coast edition, #satchatwc occurs at 7:30am PST.New to chats?  Click here for quick start guide to Twitter chats.See you online!- Tom